NO CHANGE, NO FUTURE

Environmental impact of the fashion industry

Did you know that the fashion industry is the second most polluting industry in the world? And one of the largest water consumers on earth? Often we don't really know how the clothes we wear on our skin every day are made. How much water, how much energy, and which chemicals and other materials are actually used in the production of our clothing? And what does that have to do with pollution, climate change and plastic waste?

water

We all know that the world is facing extreme drinking water shortages - over a billion people have no access to clean water. Water scarcity and water pollution are the most important environmental aspects of the world's population. The fashion industry is the second largest water consumer and water polluter. Because the processing of raw materials and the production of clothing consumes extremely valuable H2O.

consumption

The manufacture of textiles is extremely water-intensive. For example, almost 4,000 liters of water are required to produce jeans. If you look at the fact that around 5 billion jeans are produced annually worldwide, the numbers are surprising: for that alone Jeans market  to cover 4 trillion liters of water are consumed annually.


environmental pollution

A huge part of the worldwide industrial water pollution results from the treatment and dyeing of textiles. China is particularly affected - With a share of over 24% in the global textile market, China is the largest textile producer in the world. The effects can be seen, among other things, in water pollution in China: in China alone, the textile industry produces more than 3 billion tons of waste water pollution every year. And 70% of the rivers, lakes and water reservoirs there are contaminated. This pollution has an enormous negative impact on our earth.

Climate change

Production output
The production processes in textile manufacturing will emit CO2 and other greenhouse gases that pollute our atmosphere and contribute to climate change. For example, a long-sleeved white t-shirt will cause about 11 KG of CO2 emissions in the course of its life. The production contributes 28% to the climate impact, the used phase to 31%, cotton cultivation 12%, the representation of the wage shirt in the mail order catalog 14%. The remaining 15% is divided between transport, packaging and the subsequent disposal of the applied shirt. It is not just cotton, leather and other raw materials that are grown in industrial agriculture that generate an enormous carbon footprint. Polyester, nylon and other petroleum-based materials also emit harmful compounds (VOCs) and nitrous oxide, a greenhouse gas that is almost 300 times stronger than CO2.

Emission through transportation

Many processes in textile production have an enormous impact on the environment. The cultivation and production of raw fibers and textile finishing exacerbate the global effects of climate change.

90% of the clothing bought in Germany was produced abroad. CO2 emissions are increased in the fashion industry through long transport routes. Before our T-shirt is on display at the local retailer, it has already covered 30,000 kilometers. In addition, online retailers add that every fourth item of clothing is now ordered online. 50 percent of these will be returned - and 70 percent for women's clothing.

Alternatives to fast fashion consumption

Fashion trashed

How many pieces of clothing do you buy each year? On average, every German buys between 40 and 70 pieces of clothing per year. The large fast fashion chains now offer 24 collections per year - cool, new trends cheap and fast. This approach has fundamentally changed our relationship with fashion: On average, we own 118 items of clothing, of which just under 35%  never or almost never worn. - Overflowing wardrobes with a lot of old trash are the result - and is egg  Circuit from which it is difficult to get out. Quickly bought, dressed, taken a photo and sent away or sent back - this is the usual way of dealing with fashion. How can you quickly and easily consume new clothes without stuffing your closet? Because just by manufacturing, transporting goods and using - washing, drying and ironing - clothing, more than 850 million tons of CO2 emissions are caused every year.

Not so great fabrics


Did you know that the majority of fast fashion fashion is made from oil? 60 percent of our clothing contains polyester, it is the fuel for fast fashion.

production


Polyester is made from non-renewable petroleum and CO2 emissions for polyester are almost three times as high as for cotton. The manufacturers emit over five tons of CO2 for every ton of polyester.

use


And our oceans suffer: synthetic microfibers dissolve in the washing machine and end up in rivers and seas. With a single 6 kg wash load from Synthetic materials  up to 700,000 microfibers can be released into the environment.

After-life


In addition, polyester takes up to 200 years to biodegrade, releasing chemicals such as formaldehyde, heavy metals and other toxins into the environment. Add to that that the cheap synthetic mixed fibers  are often unsuitable for resale because of their poor quality. That means we get stuck with a mountain of clothes that nobody wants to wear anymore, because the latest trend is online again.

But how can you enjoy fashion cheaply, quickly and sustainably?

With RE-NT  we try to offer an alternative to fast fashion consumption. Because instead of impulsively buying new clothes, you can rent sustainable and high-quality fashion here quickly and easily.

Because we love you and our earth.

NO CHANGE, NO FUTURE

Umweltauswirkungen der Modeindustrie

Wusstest du, dass die Modeindustrie die zweitumweltschädlichste Industrie der Welt ist? Und einer der größten Wasserverbraucher der Erde? Oft wissen wir eigentlich gar nicht wie die Kleidung, die wir tagtäglich auf unserer Haut tragen, hergestellt wird. Wie viel Wasser, wie viel Energie, und welche Chemikalien und anderen Materialien werden eigentlich für die Produktion unserer Kleidung verwendet? Und was hat das mit Umweltverschmutzung, Klimawandel und dem Plastikmüll zu tun?

Wasser

Wir alle wissen, dass die Welt mit extremer Trinkwasserknappheit konfrontiert ist - über eine Milliarde Menschen haben keinen Zugang zu sauberem Wasser. Wasserknappheit und Wasserverschmutzung sind die bedeutendsten Umweltaspekte der Weltbevölkerung. Die Modeindustrie ist der zweitgrößte Wasserverbraucher und Wasserverschmutzer. Denn die Verarbeitung von Rohstoffen und die Herstellung von Bekleidung verbraucht extrem viel wertvolles H2O.

Verbrauch

Die Herstellung von Textilien ist extrem wasserintensiv. Zum Beispiel zur Herstellung einer Jeans werden fast 4.000 Liter Wasser benötigt. Wenn man sich anschaut, das jährlich weltweit circa 5 Milliarden Jeans produziert werden dann sind die Zahlen überraschend: Allein um den Jeansmarkt abzudecken werden jährlich 4 Billionen Liter Wasser verbraucht.


Umweltverschmutzung

Ein enorm großer Teil der weltweiten industriellen Wasserverschmutzung resultiert aus der Behandlung und Färbung von Textilien. Hiervon ist besonders China betroffen - mit einem Anteil an über 24 % am weltweiten Textilmarkt ist China der größte Textilproduzent der Welt. Die Auswirkungen lassen sich unter anderem in der Wasserverschmutzung in China sehen: Allein in China produziert die Textilindustrie jährlich mehr als 3 Milliarden Tonnen Abwasserverschmutzung. Und 70 % der Flüsse, Seen und Wasserreservoirs sind dort mit Schadstoffen belastet. Diese Verschmutzung hat enorme negative Auswirkungen auf unsere Erde.

Klimawandel

Produktionsausstoß
Durch die Produktionsprozesse bei der Textilherstellung werden CO2 und andere Treibhausgase emittieren, die unsere Atmosphäre belasten und zum Klimawandel beitragen. Beispielsweise ein langärmliges weißes T-Shirt verursacht im Laufe seines Lebens einen CO2-Ausstoß von etwa 11 KG. Hierbei trägt die Herstellung 28 % zur Klimabelastung bei, die Gebrauchtphase zu 31 %, Baumwollanbau 12 %, die Abbildung des Lohnshirts im Versandkatalog 14 %. Die restlichen 15 % verteilen sich auf Transporte, Verpackungen und die spätere Entsorgung des aufgetragenen Shirts. Nicht nur Baumwolle, Leder und andere Rohstoffe, die in der industriellen Landwirtschaft angebaut werden, erzeugen einen enormen CO2-Fußabdruck. Auch Polyester, Nylon und weitere Materialien auf Erdölbasis emittieren schädliche Verbindungen (VOCs) und Distickstoffmonoxid, ein Treibhausgas, das fast 300 Mal stärker ist als CO2.

Emission durch Transport

Viele Prozesse in der Textilherstellung belasten die Umwelt enorm. Besonders der Anbau und die Produktion von Rohfasern sowie die Textilveredlung verschärft die globalen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels.

90 % der Kleidung, die in Deutschland gekauft wird, wurde im Ausland produziert. Der CO2 Ausstoß wird in der Modeindustrie durch lange Transportwege gesteigert. Bevor unser T-Shirt beim heimischen Händler in der Auslage liegt, hat es schon 30 000 Kilometer hinter sich gebracht. Zusätzlich kommt durch den Online-Handel hinzu, dass jedes vierte Kleidungsstück wird inzwischen online bestellt. Davon werden 50 Prozent wieder zurückgeschickt – bei Damenoberbekleidung sind es sogar 70 Prozent.

Alternativen zu Fast-Fashion Konsum

Fashion trashed

Wie viele Kleiderstücke kaufst du dir im Jahr neu? Durchschnittlich kauft jeder Deutsche zwischen 40 und 70 Kleidungsstücke pro Jahr. 24 Kollektionen bieten die großen Fast-Fashion-Ketten mittlerweile pro Jahr an - coole, neue Trends günstig und schnell. Dieser Zugang hat unsere Beziehung mit Mode grundlegend verändert: Durchschnittlich besitzen wir 118 Kleidungsstück, von denen knapp 35% nie oder fast nie getragen werden. - überquellende Kleiderschränke mit viel altem Trash sind das Ergebnis - und ist ei Kreislauf aus dem man schwer rauskommt. Schnell gekauft, angezogen, Foto gemacht und weg damit oder wieder zurückgeschickt - das ist der gängige Umgang mit Mode. Wie kann man neue Kleidung schnell und bequem konsumieren ohne seinen Kleiderschrank noch voller zu stopfen? Denn allein durch Herstellung, Warentransport und den Gebrauch – Waschen, Trocknen und Bügeln – von Kleidung werden jährlich mehr als 850 Millionen Tonnen CO2 Emissionen verursacht.

Nicht so tolle Stoffe


Wusstest du das der Großteil der Fast-Fashion Mode aus Öl hergestellt wird? 60 Prozent unserer Kleidung enthält Polyester, es ist der Treibstoff für Fast Fashion.

Produktion


Polyester wird aus nicht-erneuerbaren Erdöl hergestellt und die CO2-Emissionen für Polyester ist fast dreimal so hoch wie für Baumwolle. Denn für jede Tonne Polyester emittieren die Hersteller über fünf Tonnen CO2.

Gebrauch


Und unsere Ozeane leidet denn: Synthetische Mikrofasern, lösen sich in der Waschmaschine auf und landen in Flüssen und Meeren. Mit einer einzigen 6-Kilogramm-Waschladung von Synthetikstoffen können bis zu 700.000 Mikrofasern in die Umwelt gelangen.

After-life


Außerdem braucht Polyester bis 200 Jahre, um sich biologisch abzubauen und setzen dabei Chemikalien wie Formaldehyd, Schwermetalle, und weitere Gifte in die Umwelt frei. Hinzu kommt noch, dass die billige Synthetik-Mischfasern wegen ihrer mangelnden Qualität sich oft nicht für den Wiederverkauf eignen. Das heißt wir bleiben hängen, mit einem Berg an Klamotten die keiner mehr tragen will, weil der neuste Trend schon wieder Online ist.

Aber wie kann man Mode günstig, schnell und nachhaltig genießen?

Mit RE-NT versuchen wir einen alternative zu dem Fast-Fashion Konsum zu bieten. Denn anstatt Impulshaft neue Kleider zu kaufen, kannst du dir nachhaltige und qualitativ hochwertige Mode hier schnell und bequem mieten.

Weil wir dich und unsere Erde lieben.